Karnataka State Open University

Karnataka State Open University was formally established on June 1, 1996 under the Karnataka State Open University Act of 1992, with the objectives of introducing and promoting the system of open university and distance learning in the state of Karnataka, and coordinating and determining the standard of such a system in the state. The University has its headquarters in Mysore. The university was initiated by the Government of Karnataka, with  The objective of providing education to people who cannot attend full time or part time educational courses offered by universities. The distance education programmes of Karnataka State Open University provide opportunities to working professionals who cannot attend a full time education system to earn degrees or diplomas.
The Karnataka State Open University had in fact originally started as the Institute of Correspondence Course and Continuing Education, a wing of University of Mysore.

Karnataka State Open University is the 8th Open University to be established in India.


Starting off on a very modest strength of students in 1996, the Karnataka State Open University today commands a staggering strength of over 1,00,000 students from all over India. It functions through 13 departments managed by 57 well-qualified faculty members, and its network of Study Centres continues to expand fast, right across the state of Karnataka. The university has initiated several ambitious programmes on its infrastructure front to facilitate rapid realization of its vision of a "virtual university", including the recent launch of Web Virtual Classroom based MBA programs with a partner Institute,University18 Business School.

It now offers wide-ranging programmes leading to degrees from the graduate level to the doctoral level and also offers a variety of diploma and certificate programmes. The university is now in the process of introducing multi-level, inter-linked programmes in information technology, apart from several specialized programmes in different areas of contemporary value and interest, in collaboration with the Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi.